Problems arising from the common frontier are also referred to the Commission by either country for examination and report; in such cases, the Commission's decisions are in the nature of recommendations. The International Joint Commission has, however, judicial powers and can render decisions on problems or questions of difference between the two countries providing both consent to be bound by its judgment. These problems need not be connected with the common frontier. The Commission reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State for External Affairs.

Department of Justice.—This Department, established by 31 Vict., c. 39 (1868), now operates under authority of the Department of Justice Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 71). It provides legal services to the Government and various government departments including preparing and settling government legislation, settling instruments issued under the Great Seal, regulating and conducting litigation for or against the Crown, superintending the acquisition of property and prosecutions under federal legislation other than the Criminal Code, administers federal statutes dealing with legal matters and provides administrative services for the Supreme Court of Canada and the Exchequer Court. The Department also superintends the penitentiaries and administers the prison system of Canada.

Department of Labour.—The Department of Labour was established in 1900 by Act of Parliament (63-64 Vict., c. 24) and now operates under authority of the Department of Labour Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 72). The Department administers, under the Minister of Labour, legislation dealing with: industrial relations, investigation of disputes, etc.; fair employment practices; the regulation of fair wages and hours of labour; reinstatement in civil employment; female employees equal pay; government annuities; government employee compensation; merchant seamen compensation; vocational training; promotion of labour-management co-operation services; co-ordination of services for rehabilitation of disabled civilians. The Department publishes the Labour Gazette and other publications, as well as general information on labour-management, employment, manpower and related subjects.

The Unemployment Insurance Commission, which also maintains the National Employment evice, reports to the Minister of Labour. The Canada Labour Relations Board acts on behalf of, and the National Advisory Council on Manpower acts in an advisory capacity to the Minister of Labour and the Merchant Seamen Compensation Board reports to the Minister of Labour. The Department is the official liaison agency between the Canadian Government and the International Labour Organization.

Department of Mines and Technical Surveys.—This Department was created by an Act of Parliament (13 Geo. VI, c. 17) which received Royal Assent on Dec. 10, 1949. Its establishment resulted from the reorganization of certain former departments. The Department's primary function is to provide technological assistance in the development of Canada's mineral resources through investigations, studies and research in the fields of geology, mineral dressing and metallurgy, and of geodetic, topographic and other surveys. The Department is under the Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys and is divided into five branches: the Surveys and Mapping Branch. the Geological Survey of Canada, the Mines Branch, the Dominion Observatories, and the Geographical Branch.

The Department also administers the Explosives Act which regulates the manufacture, testing, sale, storage and importation of explosives, and the Emergency Gold Mining Assistance Act which provides cost-aid assistance to the Canadian gold industry.

Boards and Commissions are: Canadian Board on Geographical Names; Board of Examiners for Dominion Land Surveyors; International Boundary Commission and Interprovincial Boundary Commissions.

Department of National Defence.—The Department of National Defence was established on Jan. 1, 1923, by the Department of National Defence Act, 1922, and was an amalgamation of the Departments of Militia and Defence, the Naval Service and the Air Board. The Department and the Armed Services now operate under the National Defence Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 184).

In 1940 additional Ministers for Naval and Air Services were appointed and the Department was organized under a Minister of National Defence and two additional Ministers so that there was a Minister and staff for each of the Armed Services. Upon demobilization of the wartime forces the appointment of Ministers of National Defence for Naval Services and Air Service ceased and the Armed Forces were, in 1946, again administered by the Minister of National Defence without additional ministers. In 1953 under authority of an amendment to the National Defence Act an Associate Minister of National Defence was appointed, but in 1954 this appointment became vacant and the Department is again administered solely by the Minister of National Defence.

Department of National Health and Welfare.—This Department was established in October 1944 under the authority of the Department of National Health and Welfare Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 74). The Department, headed by the Minister of National Health and Welfare, is composed of three branches—Health, Welfare, and Administration—and is administered through two Deputy Ministers.